One Direction in Melbourne

ImageThe UK boy band One Direction have returned to Australia and kicked off the Melbourne leg of their “Take Me Home” tour with a bang. 

Last night, I was lucky enough to be among dozens of other journalists standing/sitting awkwardly watching Niall, Harry, Liam, Zayn and Louis perform hit after hit as prepubescent girls around them screamed like there was no tomorrow.

I’m pretty sure everyone in the sold-out Rod Laver Arena sustained some sort of hearing loss and probably would have suffered a seizure or two courtesy of the never ending, high-pitched screams and blinding light show throughout the night.

Now, I’ve never been much of a 1D fan but I won’t lie, I have had a few of their songs stuck in my head once in a while. 

It’s no secret that One Direction have reached a level of fame that some might say rival that of The Beatles’ or even one Justin Bieber. With lyrics telling girls that it’s all about the “little things” that “makes you beautiful”, the 5 young men of the group have secured a spot in most 8 to 18 year-old girl’s heart. 

Again, I was never a fan however after seeing them perform live and interact with the crowd, I now know what all the fuss is about. One Direction are a group of 5 guys who are above average-looking, can sing lyrics that touch millions of girls’ hearts and are very cheeky with their fans and take the time to joke around in between performances for the crowd’s enjoyment. 

The night ended with a few thousand deafening screams and what seemed like “What Makes You Beautiful” with the boys donning Hawks jerseys. Though they got more flak than claps for that costume change, it was a great way to show support to the AFL team and to show that the boys do enjoy what Melbourne has to offer, as they so frequently repeated throughout the show.

There are another 7 shows in Melbourne this month and you’d best not miss them if you’re a Directioner. 

Not Ellis

(This was a short review for my blog but my longer one will be up on Youth Central‘s website soon.)

(I’m still on hiatus… I just felt the need to write about the D.)

Leave a comment